Single Strand Knots

on

Unknown

 

Good morning beautiful people, so last month I went to get my ends trimmed. It was about that time and my natural hair was way over due and needed a trim. Have any of my natural sisters heard of single strand knots ? If you so you know how frustrating they can be, well at least for me they are. When it comes to detangling and getting the style results you want they are not my best friend. Detangling the hair while having single strand knots is not the best. And when it comes to styling the results of my braidouts and twist outs aren’t to my liking. So I knew I had to do something about it and those single strand knots had to go.
 Single strand knots are very visible you can see them on the strands of you hair and I had a lot of them. My hair type knots more easily which is really curly and tightly coily strands. I wanted to learn more about single strands knots and how to prevent them so I did my research and learned some really good information about single strand knots. Single strand knots are common in curly hair types. When single strand knots become a chronic problem and a single or sometimes double knots occurs in the hair shaft.
These knots are produced by friction from cotton pillows or various hair manipulation. Combing the hair with combs that have fine teeth may tighten the knots and pull hair from the scalp. There are steps you can take to prevent knots. I’m definitely going to be following these steps and tracking my progress to see what happens. I got these steps from http://www.curlynikki.com/2015/09/preventing-fairy-knots-science-of.html?m=1
  1. Always detangle your hair before shampooing. When hair is not detangled, the water will cause your curls to tighten around any existing knots or build up in the hair. This makes combing the hair after the shampoo more difficult and frustrating.
  2. While shampooing, do not pile the hair on top of the head. Instead, massage the shampoo directly in to the scalp with the pads of your fingertips and gently finger comb the shampoo through the length of your hair in a downward motion to keep the hair free of tangles.
  3. When drying the hair it is always best to blot the hair dry and squeeze excess water from the hair. Do not use harsh movements with the towel.
  4. When preparing for bed, braid or twist the hair in sections to decrease the friction and matting that can be caused while the hair is loose.
  5. Incorporate reconstructing deep conditioners into your conditioning routine on a regular basis to keep the hair shaft strong.
  6. Keep your hair well lubricated with the use of natural and essential oils. The oils coat the hair strand, which helps to reduce friction, tangling and knotting.
  7. Have a professional trim your ends on a regular basis. On average for women who wear their hair natural, that’s once every 3-4 months, but it may be more frequently for those who have tighter coils and experience knots on a regular basis. So, monitor your hair growth cycle and how your hair feels a month or two after a trim. If you start to notice that your hair tangles more during and after a shampoo and/or you feel knots in your hair that is a sign you need a trim.
If you want to learn more about single strand knots and how to prevent them head on over to Curly Nikki. I love the website you can learn a lot about natural hair. I hope you guys learned something new because I certainly did. Leave a comment down below letting me know if you have experienced single strand knots. And what steps do you take to prevent single strand knots I would love to know. FOLLOW, LIKE, and SHARE.
Until Next Time Stay Cozy xoxo Neek
Leave a Reply

